top of page

New farming knowledge rescues rural woman from sex work


Open Pollinated Variety maize crop belonging to Nyasha (55). Nyasha is a lead farmer under the Zimbabwe Seed Sovereignty Programme. Her story epitomizes the struggles of many women in Zimbabwe who are forced into sex work to earn a living. Photo: PELUM Zimbabwe

Nyasha (name changed) (55) says she abandoned sex work to earn a living through farming. Nyasha is the sole breadwinner in her family. She says she did not have alternative sources of income and lacked the skills and knowledge to produce sufficient food to feed her two children.


Life took a drastic twist when Nyasha joined the Zimbabwe Seed Sovereignty Programme (ZSSP), a multi-year programme aimed at strengthening farmer-led seed systems.


“When my husband left me, I did not have any means of providing for myself and my two children. Farming has given me a lifeline. Some of my friends are still engaging in sex work. Many of them are contracting sexually transmitted diseases including HIV. Some of my friends have died. I was lucky to get out of the trade to become a farmer, “says Nyasha.


Hope for Nyasha came when a ZSSP partner introduced seed activities aimed at diversifying local seeds found in her community.


They were encouraging and teaching farmers especially women to grow diverse seeds to address food and nutrition insecurity and to improve their livelihoods,” says Nyasha.


Nyasha was determined to stand on her two feet so she decided to take the seed work seriously.


I learned to grow and save traditional seeds. It took me almost three years to be in a position where I could produce enough food for my family. My life has completely transformed,” Nyasha adds.


This transformation has shocked her neighbours. “I just tell them that this is what ZSSP is about, becoming a self-sufficient farmer through farm saved seeds, “says Nyasha.

24 views0 comments
bottom of page