top of page

Hunting for meat but finding seed.


Kumbirai Dube (50) is a father of three, a farmer and the project officer for Participatory Organic Research Extension and Training (PORET) in Chimanimani district, eastern Zimbabwe. Having almost lost his life hunting and coming back from his ordeal only to walk into a seed fair was as though he was being given a second chance at life. Kumbirai quickly took interest and attended trainings on permaculture, seed selection, seed treatment, packaging, storage and trials done by PORET, a PELUM Zimbabwe Member. Photo: PORET

Kumbirai Dube (50) is a smallholder farmer from Chimanimani district working with PELUM Zimbabwe member, Participatory Organic Research Extension and Training (PORET). Kumbirai’s childhood was packed with adventure. He recalls hunting in the wilderness surrounded by vast mountains and dense forests.


I grew up as a hunter, I hunted with friends and camped in the forest,” recalls Kumbirai.

One day while in pursuit of a bush buck, the hunter suddenly became the hunted. Kumbirai came face to face with death.


“I was hunting in Chayamiti mountain ranges with a bow and arrows. I was chasing a bush buck. Suddenly, I encountered a very poisonous snake. It was green in colour and very big. It stood just two metres away from my old holed black shoes,” says Kumbirai.


Kumbirai used his instincts to evade the snake but he was in for another surprise. He locked horns with a troop of baboons.


I could hardly believe my eyes. The baboons attacked me as I cried out for help. Then, I heard the sound of a gun. The baboon which was less than a metre from me fell down and blood oozed from its chest,” says Kumbirai.


A game warden had fired the shot that saved his life. Sadly, the baboon did not make it. Kumbirai was arrested on charges of poaching and was later released. He went back home defeated. He had nothing to show for his expertise. As he walked, he passed through Jinga village.


Farmers were singing and whistling with their hands raised. Seeds were hung around a big building. Their T-shirts were written PORET and at the back, seeds for food sovereignty,” says Kumbirai.


When he approached the group of farmers, Kumbirai was welcomed by a woman with an ever smiling face. She explained to him why farmers were singing and dancing with so much joy. Kumbirai reflected on his life particularly the experience that he just had in the mountains where he almost lost his life twice and had been arrested.


“I was convinced about seed security and food sovereignty. I then started thinking how I was wasting my energy hunting and putting my life on the horns of dilemma, farming is right,” says Kumbirai.


Kumbirai immediately took part in the seed fair and obtained several seed varieties from other farmers.


I joined the farmers when touring the displayed seeds. I saw different seeds which I could not even remember, even the lost seed varieties. Many farmers gave me different traditional seed varieties which included sorghum, pearl millet, finger millet, sesame and ground nuts,” says Kumbirai.

42 views0 comments
bottom of page